Project 3- Logo Design (Research)

Examples of existing logos:

1. Image

-I think the intent/concept is clear: this company is about keeping water in cities/urban areas clean and free from pollution often found in those areas. I think the logo is more effective with the incorporation of the urban landscape enclosed by the tidal wave; it illustrates the target audience/area they are trying to reach and what service they offer with the use of color (the blue indicates a calm/clean atmosphere).

2. Image

-The design is very simple, straightforward and effective. By incorporating chopsticks in place of the ‘h’, it gives the viewer all they need to know without cluttering up the design with necessary imagery.

3. Image

-Very clean and elegant design, my only criticism is that there is no indication if this company sells wine, or just a wine appreciation type thing.

4. Image

-Utilizing the spartan helmet silhouette to create the image of a golfer makes for a very tight design.

5. Image

-I thinks its interesting how they incorporated an animal into the design. I think it was a smart to utilize the most prominent feature of the animal to demonstrate the variety of wines they have.

6. Image

-Rather than a logo, I see this working as a minimal movie poster design. Not that it doesn’t work as a logo- its simple and to the point- just that because the name is so familiar I’d like to a similar approach used for other media.

7. Image

-Nice play on works and choice of color scheme. Also by using the word aroma in the name, it activates the sense of smell and you can almost smell the fragrance of coffee or chocolate due to the color scheme.

8. Image

-I think the idea was strong but it doesn’t completely come across. The silhouette is supposed to give the impression of strength but perhaps the color choice or the use of such organic shapes, it appears too soft.

9. Image

-I just thought it was funny looking. I think the design is good but I’m not really sure what its about, keeping mouth muscles strong? For what purpose?

10. Image

-I think the concept is strong and it reads clearly, but its boring. I think if the intention is to remain neutral in order to encompass a wide range of music, then its successful, but for me its a little flat.

11. Image

-I like the font and the subtle integration of imagery within it. However, its not a lot of information to draw from.

12. Image

-I really like this one. Its playful but controlled, an overall charming design.

13. Image

-Straight to the point and elegant. I think its very successful, I understood the concept right away and thought it was very clean.

14. Image

-I like that this design tries to appeal to the audience on a personal level by using nostalgic imagery.

15. Image

-I think the design is interesting and looks clean because of the color, but its hard to read. I can’t make out the first 2-3 letters, and because of that the concept isn’t reading as clearly.

16. Image

-I think the design is clean and engaging, with a successful concept. The puzzle piece gives the impression that if the viewer is unsure about their future, this company can help you piece it together.

17. Image

-I love this one! The incorporation of text and image beautiful, with nothing else cluttering up the design. It also seems geared toward a particular audience but it stays unisex since it is black, which I think is thoughtful an very thought out.

18. Image

-I think the design itself is pretty and elegant, but I’m not so happy with the font. I like how its not bold like the design is, but I still find it distracting.

19. Image

-I think the design is fresh because of the font and flat color. I don’t really care for the color personally, but I think overall it’s very successful.

20. Image

-Another one with a creative play on words. Again, I think its a successful design.

21. Image

-I like the concept, and that they integrated the cat with the text. What I dislike is the placement of the text, it makes the reading awkward.

These are all very strong designs, each one presenting strong concepts and wonderful integration of text and images.

Leave a comment